Driving a scooter has just gotten a little bit safer.
Effective Oct. 1, all motor scooter and moped riders must wear a helmet, protective eye goggles and be in possession of the title and insurance at all times, according to the Maryland State Police.
All riders, "must obtain at least the minimum vehicle liability insurance and must carry proof of the insurance with them whenever they are operating the scooter or moped," according to a press release sent from Laurel Mayor Craig Moe.
Fines for not following these new laws are: $110 for not wearing a helmet, $110 for not having eye protection, $290 for no insurance and $70 for no title certification, but citations will not be distributed until Nov. 1, according to the release.
Per the release:
Maryland law defines a motor scooter as a non-pedal vehicle that has a seat for the operator; has two wheels, of which one is ten or more inches in diameter; has a step through chassis; has a motor with a rating of 2.7 brake horsepower or less, or a 50 cc engine or less; and is equipped with an automatic transmission.
A moped is defined as a bicycle that is designed to be operated by human power with the assistance of a motor; is equipped with pedals that can drive the rear wheel(s); has two or three wheels, one of which is more than 14 inches in diameter; has a motor with a rating of 1.5 brake horsepower or less and a 50 cc engine or less.
To obtain proper titling, visit the Motor Vehicle Administration of Maryland.